The seven islands of the Tuscan Archipelago

The biggest is the Island of Elba, (third largest island in Italy), the others are Gorgona, Capraia, Montecristo, the Island of Pianosa, the Island of Giglio, and the Island of Giannutri. There are also some smaller islands and tiny rocks spread more or less all over the archipelago.

The Ligurian Sea is in the north of the Island of Elba, while the Tyrrhenian Sea lies south. The Strait of Corsica and the Strait of Piombino, that in some way can be considered links between the two seas, are the former west of Elba, and the latter east.