|Where they are||Island of Montecristo|
|How to get there||Visiting Montecristo|
The Park Offices of the Integral Natural Reserve of the State (since 1971) and the Biogenetic Natural Reserve (since 1988) Island of Montecristo are inside what was once the Fishermen's Shed , an old building that has been renovated amd made more homely thanks to work carried out with the help of the Resto con Life project.
It was Queen Elena who deeply wished the house to be built; she had been on honeymoon to Montecristo for a few days with King Vittorio Emanuele III then went back at least once a year for many years to come from 1895 onwards.The house was built at the beginning of the XX century in order to welcome the fishermen who used to like taking shelter in Cala maestra when the weather was bad.
Over the years, since the building was in a terrible state, extra parts were added like a brick portico and some extra rooms as well, and thanks to all the renovaion the building regained its original splendor to the point that today it represents the front door to the Island of Montecristo, a unique and natural treasure chest at both a national and international level.
Inside the Park Info offices visitors and students who have the chance of going to Montecristo will be given all the information if they wish to take part in the conservation of natural balance of this great, natural patrimony.