June-July - Portoferraio

The "Island of Elba" Literary Prize has been a feather in the cap of Elba's culture since 1962. Over the past 45 years, more than 2000 books and authors have been examined, and writers like Mario Luzi, Alberto Bevilacqua, Margarete Buber-Neumann, Michel Tournier, Mario Tobino and Fosco Maraini have taken turns walking onto the stage, not forgetting Eugenio Montale and Heinrich Boll, both awarded a prize in Elba before being given the Nobel Prize for Literature.

The prize-giving evening is held every year, often organized with other celebrations, and as well as the actual winner, journalists and critics of international level are also present.

This Prize started in 1962, and since 1984 has been called Raffaello Brignetti in memory of this important and excellent writer from the Island of Giglio who was "adopted" by Elba due to the fact that for many years he lived in Marciana Marina.

For further information visit the official prize web site: www.premioletterarioelba.it.

Request a free quote